mid-week apologetics booster (7-17-2014)

Good Morning Everyone!

Here are some items for you to read:

  1. Christianity as the Best Explanation: http://www.str.org/articles/christianity-as-the-best-explanation#.U8fG-7Goe2l
  2. Sin and Sinners: http://str.typepad.com/weblog/2014/07/sin-and-sinners.html
  3. How to Get Out of a Corner: http://www.str.org/articles/how-to-get-out-of-a-corner-2#.U8fHprGoe2k
  4. Mormon Role-Play: http://str.typepad.com/weblog/2014/07/a-motivating-mormon-role-play.html
  5. What Does Christianity Say About Salvation?  Six Big Questions: http://coldcasechristianity.com/2014/what-does-christianity-say-about-salvation-six-big-questions/

I would also like to share with you a web site I’ve developed this summer (This is what I did on my summer vacation, teacher :)).  I developed it in order to learn a technology that I will be needing to use at work, so it had a dual purpose: (1) to glorify God and (2) to improve and practice my skillset.  It is made to work either on your desktop computer or a smart phone like Android or iPhone (probably tablet too).  It is called Nuggets.  Here is the site:

http://coolgadgetssoftware.com/nuggets_mobile_app/web/index.html#/nugget/y

Here is a screen shot of how it looks:

nuggets1nuggets2

“Nuggets” are just passages out of the Bible – I have 4641 of them loaded in the program.  Notice the “Next” and “Prev” links at the bottom – that’s how you navigate through these “Nuggets”.  The second screen shot shows what the various menu items that you see when you press the “Main Menu” link in the upper right of the screen.  So this app/site is great for just getting a “quick fix of truth” when you’re out and about and maybe find yourself with a few minutes waiting for something (oil change, doctors office, etc).  It goes through them in random order.

It also has areas for practicing memory verses.  Currently, there are 379 memory passages loaded.  Those are the ones I personally practice on a regular basis.  One of the enhancements I hope to make in the future is to allow a person to select a subset of those 379 to be their own personalized memory verse list.

Another feature included is the idea of ‘Topics’.  I’ve associated Bible passages with various “topics”.  There are 362 topics in the list.  You can either browse the list of topics and select one to see the passages associated with it, or you can go to a screen that will show you a random topic (one at a time).

You can also just view the full Bible – use the ‘View Chapter’ menu item.

Finally, I’ve provided a search of the entire Bible – use the ‘Search’ menu item.  For example, in the following screen shots I’ve searched for ‘come to me’ in the New Testament in the ESV translation:

search1search2search3

The second screenshot shows that there are 13 verses in the New Testament in the ESV translation where the phrase ‘come to me’ (case insensitive) occurs.  Notice that as navigate to each search result, the phrase ‘come to me’ is highlighted in green.

Well, this app/site is a work in progress (I still need to address getting a better looking font on iPhone), but I would love to hear your feedback and/or suggestions.  I sincerely hope you find it useful.

Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

