AWANA Teaching on Philippians 2:3-4

This was the content of teaching I did last night to 3rd and 4th graders on Philippians 2:3-4.  This is a passage they all have to memorize:

It was well received by the kids and they were challenged to look to the interests of others at school in the coming week and that we would be following up with them next week!

As a side note, during the evening, a 5th grader came up to me and excitedly told me that “prayer works”!  She told me that she and her friend had lost something at school, so she prayed, then she found it.  I commended her for remembering to pray in that situation.  She was so excited to tell me that I didn’t want to dampen her enthusiasm…  Then, later in the evening, during game time, she had to sit out because she was “tagged” by being hit with the ball, and she sat down next to me.  I asked her if she remembered the night before Jesus went to the cross in the Garden of Gethsemane?  “Did you remember what He prayed?”, I asked her.  She said, “Yes, that He wouldn’t have to go and die on the cross”.  I reminded her that the Father didn’t answer yes to His prayer – and that’s Jesus!  So, yes, prayer works, but the answer is not always yes and that doesn’t mean God isn’t listening.  She smiled and agreed.  I felt like I had to make that clarification, because this is the type of thing that could end up destroying one’s faith if she thinks that every time she prays she’ll get exactly what she needs.

Leave a Reply

