Talking with an Indian family about Christianity

Sometime in mid-May 2016, I spent time with my wife and an Indian family eating dinner.  Then, after dinner, unbeknownst to me, they invited me back to their house to “debate religion” (according to their 4th grade child).  So, we went, and what ensued was a (friendly) 4 hour talk about Christianity and some about Hinduism.  All I can say is wow…  I didn’t convince them to become Christians, but I was able to clearly share the gospel with them and left the door open for future discussions.  The husband/father of the family said that he actually believes in Jesus, which of course I had to clarify what he meant by that (he doesn’t believe in the Biblical Jesus from what I could gather).  The objections I encountered centered around several themes:

  1. The reliability of the Bible
  2. The exclusivity of Christianity
  3. That all religions are similar

I addressed all of these issues, but without really changing their opinions.  This is a family we continue to be involved with and I continue to pray for opportunities to discuss my faith with them.

Leave a Reply

